About Barrelhouse

Barrelhouse is an independent non-profit literary organization.
Barrelhouse bridges the gap between serious art and pop culture.
Barrelhouse is a biannual print journal featuring fiction, poetry, interviews, and essays about music, art, and the detritus of popular culture.
Barrelhouse is a web site that regularly posts new short fiction, nonfiction, interviews, and random stuff.
Barrelhouse is produced by writers for readers who are looking for quality writing with an edge and a sense of humor.
Stories originally published in Barrelhouse have been featured in the Best American Nonrequired Reading, Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy, and the Million Writer’s Award.
Barrelhouse Presents is a monthly reading series in DC showcasing the work of other literary magazines and small presses whose work we believe in.
Barrelhouse supports the indie lit community through major events like the Conversations and Connections Conference and the Indie Lit City Summit.
Barrelhouse offers 8-week online workshops where writers get the straight dope on their work.
Barrelhouse has been recognized for its awesomeness by the mainstream media, including but not limited to such outlets as the Washington Post, DCist.com, The Urbanite, NewPages.com, and Washington City Paper.
Barrelhouse is not affiliated with a university or writing program.
Barrelhouse wants to be your weird Internet friend. You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for all the latest jibber jabber from Barrelhouse, our contributors, and the indie lit scene.




Fiction Editors

Dave Housley
Joe Killiany
Matt Perez

Nonfiction Editor

Tom McAllister

Poetry Editor

Dan Brady

Online Editor

Erin Fitzgerald

Barrelhouse Books

Mike Ingram

Art Director

Killian Czuba


Sheila Squillante

Production MANAGER

Becky Barnard

Assistant Editors

Tara Campbell
Chris Gonzalez
Sian Griffiths
Jeremiah Goulka
Katherine Hill
Tony Mancus
Courtney Elizabeth Mauk
Naomi Minkoff
Susan Muaddi-Darraj
Rion Scott
Sarah Strickley
Dave Thomas
Wendy Wimmer

Board of Directors

Megan Farrell
Philippa P.B. Hughes
Danielle Natoli
Daniel Nester
Skip Wieder

Editors Who Have Left the Building

Matt Kirkpatrick
Susan Muaddi-Darraj
Aaron Pease